Particle Board has a reputation for being difficult to paint.  I’m not sure where this reputation came from, but I’ve found it can be painted.  Back during “The Great House Purge,” I discussed painting two stands.  One was metal.  The other was particle board.  For that particle board stand, I painted it solid white.

Tonight, I painted a particle board television stand, but gave it a more distressed look.  I’m going to show you what I did tonight, and then I’ll let you know how to modify it to get a solid color.

For starters, here’s what I was working with:

The first thing I did was clean off all the dust and dirt.  To do this, I took a Clorox wipe and ran it over the surfaces.  I like Clorox wipes because they pick up the dirt, but they dry quickly.  After the stand was clean, I began applying white paint:

I used left over paint from when I painted my bedroom last year.  This is just the basic white indoor room paint you can get at your local hardware store.  I used Valspar, but you could use any indoor paint.  (Side Note – The paint I used was “green” type paint, and I’ve found it was less opaque than “normal” paint, which I love for my bedroom.  It can require additional coats.)

For painting, I used an older brush that has some bristles sticking together.  I directed all the strokes in the same direction.  This resulted in lines in the paint on the particle board.  It should look something like this:

After I put on one coat, I did a second coat, following the same brush pattern as I used the first time.  This allowed some of the darkness of the original paint to come through a la distressed painting, while the stand was still mainly white.  Here’s the stand after one coat:

I did not put a second white coat on the doors.  Instead, I painted these a pastel pink (the same paint I used in my corner bedroom).  This allowed the doors to be a bit of an accent.  I chose this pastel color because it’s a lighter version of the color of the chairs I’m using in the room, so it helps tie the furniture pieces together.  It looked like this:

Tomorrow, I’ll do some spot checking, and reattach the hardware.  Then the piece will be ready to go.

If you want a more solid, even look, use a sponge brush or a newer brush without bristles sticking together.  Do at least three (preferably four) layers, alternating the direction of the brush strokes with each layer.  Happy painting!

